Ask and You Shall Receive!

This post is going to look at two different perspectives on this phrase in the world of personal finance.

Got My Deposit Back!

After waiting for over a month to get my deposit back, I finally emailed the coordinator at my venue asking if I was going to receive it back. She emailed me back a couple hours later stating that she had requested it be returned to me the day after my wedding, so theoretically I should have received it before I got home from my honeymoon (as I thought I would). She sent the person in charge of cutting checks an email asking what had happened- that person was out for surgery for a month and the volunteer who was in charge of handling checks didn’t do what they were supposed to do! So, the very next day a check was in my mailbox. I’ve decided to fully commit it to CC1 immediately and kill that debt by next month (I haven’t canceled my health insurance yet, so I don’t have the wiggle room for the $775 per month yet, plus I owe husband some cash for adding me on to his car insurance).

I asked where my rightfully owed money was, and I got it! I wonder if I ask for a raise, will I receive one…?

And on the seventh day, God said “LET THERE BE CUTE SHOES.” (Or something like that)

I have an unhealthy obsession with shoes. Whenever I see a cute pair of shoes, I go through a deep internal struggle about the cost and the need for the shoes. I did an excellent job in 2012 of only buying shoes when I absolutely needed to, but this year has been a different story. I bought two pairs of shoes this past week (buy one pair, get one pair free, how could I possibly pass that up?!?), and my husband bought me a third pair. This is on top of other pairs I bought earlier this year…

Good ol’ husband, he loves to make me happy. He loves to make me happy with shoes.  I often don’t have to do much more than ask then he will buy whatever it is I want for me as long as he perceives it to be reasonably priced (i.e. I saw a beautiful $14,000 dollar ring a few weeks ago, there is no way he will ever buy that for me unless we win the lottery). On our honeymoon, he bought me a very expensive somethin’ that I was admiring, with merely the excuse that we were on our honeymoon.

This mentality he has, while fun at times, can be stressful. Eventually we are going to start a family, the belts are going to get tighter and I don’t think he’ll know what to do! I mentioned in a comment to a reader who was interested in seeing how we will combine and manage our finances together, but him and I don’t talk money often. It is definitely a source of stress between us, with him being slightly better at it than me but him more frequently buying things that I don’t think are necessary to happiness, but in his mind they are. He could probably save thousands a year by cutting back on some of his discretionary expenses. Eventually I want him to be on board for killing the mortgage as fast as possible (after I kill the student loan), but I worry he won’t like what it will entail.

Once I get my credit cards in order and am a strongly contributing member in the household, I will ask him to start making sacrifices for the good of us and our future family. We will see how it goes, hopefully another ask and receive that I will receive…

2 thoughts on “Ask and You Shall Receive!

  1. I think I was the blogger that asked about couples finances 🙂 I’m a newbie lawyer, and have been in a relationship for 6 years. We were thinking of getting married a few years ago, but I knew I didn’t want my student loans to affect him. I actually sat down with a family law judge and a few lawyers to ask their advice. We’re in a community property state, so I pay very close attention to how our financial decisions will affect the other. I’m the extremely frugal one, and he surprises with “luxuries” I wouldn’t normally buy for myself… it definitely boosts my morale after paying Sallie Mae each month!

  2. Pingback: “I wonder if I ask for a raise, will I receive one…?” | Good-bye Debt (with less than 5 figures a year)!

Leave a comment