Maybe, JUST Maybe…

I’ve been boring lately, ranting about my not so great financial situation. Not so great things have been happening in other parts of my life, mainly at work, but those bad things at work have been good on my pocket a bit. Due to a flood that shut down my office, we now are operating out of another suite until everything is repaired (stress level is high!). The first week it was going on, I ended up doing several hours of overtime to help get things in order. It wasn’t a ton of money, but still, it added extra padding to my paycheck. On the flip side, my cat was diagnosed with arthritis and taking her to the vet to be given that diagnosis cost a pretty penny. Always something…

Last week, I was super stressed about finances and how I was going to pay a deposit for the wedding. I was looking at my student loan payments and noticed something odd. I didn’t need to make my next payment until May 28 and when I asked about it, they said that it was correct, and if I turned off my override, I wouldn’t have to make a payment on my account this month. When I was checking my deposit from work on Friday, I was checking other activity on my account. My cosmetic loan payment was withdrawn, and I realized I had a lot of extra cash. I just did some quick math and this is what I figured out:

If I don’t pay my student loan payment this month (I know, the thought makes me want to puke, but once I get my deposit back it’ll go straight to the student loan), I can pay my bills, the deposit AND PAY OFF MY COSMETIC LOAN.

I’m still in shock. My math may be wrong, but I’m pretty sure it’s right. I’ll have to be really tight for a few weeks, but that would be good for me in the long run anyway to re-invigorate myself for this financial battle. With my complete lack of control in recent months, this would be a good exercise and will help me get back to fighting the credit card debt next. I’ll save around $15-$20 in interest in the process, and of course, saving money is the goal here.

Otherwise, I haven’t made any life altering decisions to increase my income or have done anything drastic to earn extra cash. I’m trying eBay and not being so successful this round. I didn’t get that modeling gig. I haven’t heard if a dance studio near me will use me for a few weeks this summer. I need to look around again and see if there are any opportunities for the summer time that would be lucrative (and worth giving up my summer evenings/weekends). Also still need to call my ace in the hole, and hopefully that will be a good quick fix to a few things that ail me once that’s all squared away.

The battle rages on…

Leave a Reply

