As 2012 Draws to a Close

Two more days until the last day of 2012. What a year! Things I’ve thought about the past couple of days:

1. I didn’t die on December 21st. I first learned about the Mayan calendar ending on that day since I was 14. I feel silly admitting it, but part of me was a little afraid something would happen. I’ve had 15 years to think about it after all.

2. What a fulfilling year! Switching jobs, planning a wedding, adopting a cat…it’s all been a whirlwind! I wouldn’t change a thing, it’s been the best year of my life so far!

3. Being motivated by a total stranger to change my financial habits, and actually changing my financial habits.

At some point in the past two months, point 3 has become less about that person motivating me, and more about me taking control of something that I have always been completely intimidated by. It was easier for me to be in debt in some ways- I just could go on mindlessly buying stuff and paying what I could when I could. But, I read that Yahoo! article on that May evening, a few days later read an entire blog until my eyes were red and dry, and made the decision to change my financial habits because I realized that freedom from debt can’t be beat.

It hasn’t been a complete change. I’m still a consumerist- I do enjoy buying bright, shiny new things- but I have been substantially better in not just buying something, but actually thinking through the need and desire to buy. I think had I not read the blog, I would still have all the debt I had earlier in the year and then some because I would have continued to mindlessly buy “things”. I do owe a lot of my mindset change to that author, so Joe, thank you. I hope you’ve enjoyed the rest of your year too.

I still have a lot to change, and a lot of debt to kill, and 2013 is another year to do so. I will be coming up with a revised plan, and few resolutions, and hope to make 2013 a very prosperous year. So, get ready kids, it’s going to get even MORE real.

Leave a Reply

