Resisting Temptation and Other Thoughts

Resisting Temptation

This weekend my fiance and I went up to NYC to get away for a couple of days. This is the only vacation we are taking this year- last year we went to New Zealand and Mexico, and while we used airline miles to pay for the tickets and stayed in low cost facilities (in NZ, we stayed in hostels mostly; MX, a low cost all-inclusive), we still needed to make our vacation this year as modest as possible.

We took a bus, which cost a whopping total of $100 for two round-trip tickets. I paid $225 for us to see Wicked, and I don’t really want to think about how much he spent on the hotel but until we’re married, I don’t feel like I can tell him how to spend his money (even then I know I will struggle to get him to spend wisely). We took the subway to save on cab fares to the 911 memorial site that was free to view (which everyone needs to see at some point in their lifetime, by the way). Then we went to Soho, the shopping district.

I felt torn- on the one hand, I like shopping and encountering shops I’ve never been in before and was hoping to find something unique. On the other hand, I didn’t want to find anything so that I wouldn’t be tempted to spend money. I could have just stayed away and not felt temptation, but I just REALLY wanted to walk through Soho.

Well, luckily I found nothing I felt tempted by except for a dog collar that would have looked really cute on my pup, but my fiance pointed out that it would have been too big on her. So, I walked away, disappointed I was empty handed but HAPPY I hadn’t spent a dime. I had no temptations that I had to struggle to resist- I saw things I liked, but I think the part of my brain that feels so driven to get rid of my debt overwhelmed my sense of fancy that I feel when I see something cute. It made me realize that maybe this whole thing isn’t as hard as I’ve been telling myself…

Food for Thought

Joe wrote a book, and I’ve been slowly reading it over the past week. One of the chapters really got me to thinking about this blog and my debt. I don’t give you all numbers, I just give generalized dollar signs. I track my money in general, but not to the dime like I should. I convinced myself at some point that this would be fun, but haven’t put myself out there enough to really make myself work at it and set some seemingly insurmountable goal. I hate failure, but we can’t succeed without failure, right??

New Outlook

After reading the particular chapter that got me to thinking, I’ve decided I need to start fresh. I need to look at the numbers, my income, debt and budget, and put it all out there. It will soon be fall, and it’s time for some cleaning. Clean my house and clean my finances. As the month goes on, I’ll be putting the numbers out there, the goals out there and really get down to business.

It’s about to get real up in here!

Leave a Reply

